North Texas

North Texas

Welcome to North Texas

North Texas is a term used by the residents of Dallas, Fort Worth, and the surrounding counties and cities to refer to the 16 Texas counties that make up the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG).

The counties that are included in the NCTCOG are:

Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise.

North Texas

North Texas Weather

According to the National Weather Service,

The Dallas-Fort Worth climate is humid subtropical with hot summers. It is also continental, characterized by a wide annual temperature range. Precipitation also varies considerably, ranging from less than 20 inches to more than 50 inches.

Winters are mild but northers occur about three times each month and are often accompanied by sudden drops in temperature. Periods of extreme cold that occasionally occur are short-lived so that even in January mild weather occurs frequently.

The highest temperatures of summer are associated with fair skies, westerly winds, and low humidity. Characteristically, hot spells in summer are broken into three to five-day periods by thunderstorm activity. There are only a few nights each summer when the low temperature exceeds 80F. Summer daytime temperatures frequently exceed 100F. The average length of the warm season in North Texas is 249 days from mid-March until Late in November. Snowfall is rare.

North Texas Real Estate

Former President George W. Bush called North Texas "The Promised Land" and it seems like a lot of people across the country agree with him.

Nearby Listings

Properties marked by the NTREIS Logo are courtesy of the NTREIS Multiple Listing Service. Property listing data provided by NTREIS multiple listing service. You may not reproduce or redistribute this data, it is for viewing purposes only. This data is deemed reliable, but is not guaranteed accurate by the MLS or NTREIS.

Updated: 27th June, 2019 5:49 AM.